Rent Historical Hall for your weddings, mitzvahs, parties, meetings, classes, etc.
School House – 1829
11 Pound Ridge Road
This small stone building on the Green, often called the Stone Jug, was the village school from 1829 to 1912. From 1913 to 1969 it housed the Bedford Museum which was moved to the second floor of the renovated Court House in 1970.
The School House was then restored to its original use as a 19th century one-room school. From 2004 to 2006, the building underwent extensive restoration to stabilize the east wall and return the interior to its original stucco-on-stone finish. Currently the desks date from the early 20th century. We hope to complete the restoration with the installation of woods desks from 1829 when the School House first opened. Two new interpretive panels educate visitors on the history of Common Schools in New York and on the history of the “Stone Jug”. The School House is a vibrant part of our educational program tours and is open to all others by appointment.